2016 VISL Awards Night

Friday April 8/2016 – Strathcona Hotel – VISL Awards Night.

The following is the entire list of League Awards.

Congrats to all.

Cowichan LMG Div 1 took home lots of hardware.


Entering the VISL Hall of Fame with this year’s President’s Award is George and Keith Smith. A father son combo that have been on the Board collectively for over 42 years.

Keith is still our Treasurer today after starting in 1994.  George was VISL President for 7 years (1980-1987) and had a variety of other roles.

George and Keith both started locally in 1958.  George coaching after immigrating from Scotland, Keith playing in the youth system.

We are lucky to have them both!


1   FRED CROSSETT U-21 A CHAMPIONS Mid Isle Mariners Mid Isle Mariners  
2   U-21 B CHAMPIONS N/A N/A  
3   MASTER C CHAMPIONS Peninsula Cove ReUnited Peninsula Cove ReUnited  
4   MASTER B CHAMPIONS Vic West FC Vic West FC  
5   MASTER A CHAMPIONS UVic Alumni UVic Alumni  
7   DIVISION 4B CHAMPIONS Prospect Lake Kal Tire Prospect Lake Kal Tire  
8   DIVISION 4A CHAMPIONS Penelakut United Penelakut United  
9   Division 4 PLAYOFF CHAMPIONS Lakehill Hooligans Lakehill Hooligans JV Barnes
10   DIVISION 3B CHAMPIONS Vic West Casuals Vic West Casuals  
11   JIM SPENCER DIV 3A CHAMPIONS Saanich Fusion Harris Dodge Saanich Fusion Harris Dodge  
12   DIVISION 2 CHAMPIONS Campbell River Cermaq City Wave Campbell River Cermaq City Wave  
13   DIVISION 1 CHAMPIONS Cowichan FC Cowichan FC Garrison Cup
14   MCGAVIN CUP Prospect Lake Lakers Prospect Lake Lakers  
15   MOGENS BRODSGAARD MCGAVIN MVP Bryden Massey Prospect Lake Lakers
16   GEORGE SMITH U21 CUP WINNER Saanich Fusion Saanich Fusion FC  
17   WALTER CRAVEIRO U21 CUP MVP Matt Buehler Saanich Fusion FC  
18   TONY GROVER MEMORIAL CUP Saanich Fusion Old School Saanich Fusion Old School Masters Cup
19   ALEX HYLAN TROPHY – MVP Masters   Jeevan Manhas Saanich Fusion Old School
20   GEORGE PEARKES CHALLENGE CUP   Juan de Fuca Juan de Fuca  
21   PEARKES CHALLENGE CUP MVP Brent Cameron Juan de Fuca  
22   SIR JOHN JACKSON CUP Cowichan FC Cowichan FC  
23   DENNY GIRVAN MEMORIAL MVP Jackson Patrick Nelson Cowichan FC
24   WILF SADLER MEMORIAL Jamie Ackinclose Gorge FC Distinguished person/leader
25   VISL REFEREE AWARD Nathan Bird N/A Top Referee
26   EXECUTIVE OF THE YEAR   Dan Romain N/A  
27   JAMES FORSYTH TROPHY   Saanich Fusion Molnar Div 3A Saanich Fusion Molnar Div 3A Most sportsmanlike team
28   TEAM OF THE YEAR AWARD Campbell River Cermaq City Wave Campbell River Cermaq City Wave  
29   U21 A DIVISION MVP AWARD   Billy Bagiopoulos Mid Isle Mariners  
30   MASTERS C DIV MVP AWARD   Nigel Pickering Peninsula Cove ReUnited  
31   MASTERS B DIV MVP AWARD   Ryan Laughey Vic West FC  
32   MASTERS A DIV MVP AWARD   Mike Hoffman UVic Alumni  
34   DIVISION 4B MVP AWARD   Brandon Elderton Lakehill Hooligans  
35   DIVISION 4A MVP AWARD   Raymond Sam Penelakut Utd  
36   DIVISION 3B MVP AWARD   Andrew Galewitz Vic West Casuals  
37   DIVISION 3A MVP AWARD   Evan Smith Saanich Fusion Harrris Dodge  
38   DIVISION 2 MVP AWARD   Bryden Massey Prospect Lake Lakers  
39   DIVISION 1 ROOKIE AWARD Joshua Cuthbert Cowichan FC
40   DIVISION 1 GOALKEEPER AWARD Elliot Mitrou Bays United  
41   DIVISION 1 TOP SCORER Patrick Nelson Cowichan FC – 27  
42   DIVISION 1 MVP AWARD Patrick Nelson Cowichan FC Dr JD Hunter
43   LEAGUE TOP SCORER AWARD Raymond Sam Penelakut Utd – 28 Vinnie’s golden boot
44   LOU GARRAWAY Memorial Trophy Jason Owen Uvic Alumni – 15 Masters Top goal scorer
45   PRESIDENTS AWARD George & Keith Smith VISL Hall of Fame



Posted in BC Soccer Island, BC Soccer News, BC Soccer Victoria, VISL.